#2 The Three Types of Problems {And Why They Matter To You}

Jesska Layne Herfst, MAPC
7 min readOct 13, 2020

“If you define the problem properly, you almost have the solution”- Steve Jobs

Defining a problem properly is much trickier than it sounds.


During a call this morning with a colleague, I was asked point-blank: ‘what’s going on with your energy?’


I did not want to answer that question. Unbeknownst to my colleague I had a triple-whammy the night before (you know, when three unexpectedly hurtful things happen back-to-back). While I was well aware of my wafting sadness, I wasn’t quite clear on why I was stuck in this reaction and working it out during our meeting felt vulnerable. However, I had been in this emotional state since the night before and I very much wanted clarity and a sense of relief from this energy-sucking misery. (And viola- that’s how most inner world development begins… with a push from pain, a desire for relief and a little jump over the initial vulnerability of diving in).

I’m going to tell you how the triple whammy went from ‘overwhelm’ to ‘understanding’ because it just so happens to paint a nice picture of the three types of problems we’re discussing and illustrates how inner world development becomes the game-changing element in each one.

--

--

Jesska Layne Herfst, MAPC

Consultant, Coach and Group Facilitator specializing in Inner World Development to accomplish Healing, Performance and Profits.